South Piedmont Community College

South Piedmont Community College



About Us

SPCC offers college transfer education, career education, industry training, lifelong-learning education, and developmental education. The college serves both Union and Anson counties.

South Piedmont is North Carolina’s newest community college—created in 1999 by the North Carolina General Assembly. The legislature’s action abolished Anson Community College and assigned the new college’s service area as Anson and Union counties in south-central North Carolina.South Piedmont is in the unique position of being a new institution with a proud history. The institution traces its roots to 1962, with the founding of the Ansonville unit of the Charlotte Industrial Education Center. In collaboration with Stanly Community College, it also provided years of service in Union County as Union Technical Education Center.

The institution was originally designated as the Ansonville Industrial Education Center in November 1962 by action of the State Department of Public Instruction. In 1967, the Anson County Board of Education and County Commissioners officially appointed a local Board of Trustees. As a result, the Ansonville Industrial Education Center became Anson Technical Institute, a unit of the Department of Community Colleges of North Carolina.


Gallery Image IMG_6357.JPG
Gallery Image IMG_1621.JPG
Gallery Image IMG_1146.JPG
Gallery Image IMG_6566.JPG
Gallery Image IMG_4367.JPG
Gallery Image IMG_2089.JPG
Gallery Image IMG_1903.JPG
Gallery Image IMG_1052.JPG
Gallery Image IMG_1071.JPG


Record Keeping and Taxes for Small Business
Record Keeping and Taxes for Small Business
Funding Your Business
Funding Your Business
  • Get to the heart of business financing and learn the advantages and disadvantages of the different types of funding sources.
  • Tuesday Nov 9, 2021
Content Marketing: What's Working Now
Content Marketing: What's Working Now
  • Just “doing” social media is no longer enough. The free ride is over. To be successful, you need to be all in.
  • Thursday Nov 11, 2021

Rep/Contact Info

Anthony Barbour
Coordinator, Purchasing and Equipment
  • Phone: (704) 272-5383
Dennis Baucom
Director of Vocational Trades
  • Phone: (704) 290-5100
Card image cap
Ashley Benton
Resource Development Coordinator
Carl Bishop
VP Academic Affairs
Miriam Black
Director of Public Safety Curriculum Programs
  • Phone: (704) 290-5100
Cheryl Brakefield
Director, Human Resources
  • Phone: (704) 272-5471
Michelle Brock
Vice President, Finance and Administrative Services
  • Phone: (704) 272-5357
Russell Carpenter
Industrial Maintenance Instructor/Coordinator
  • Phone: (704) 290-5892
Bonnie Cotter
VP Institutional Advancement
Oscar Gonzalez
Computer Information Technology Instructor
  • Phone: (704) 290-5232
Kristen Griffin
Lead Program Coordinator
  • Phone: (704) 290-5223
Elizabeth Hamrick
Executive Assistant to the President
  • Phone: (704) 290-5251
Renee Hode
Director of Small Business and Entrepreneurship
  • Phone: (704) 993-2424
Al Johnstone
Counselor, Small Business Center/Instructor, HRD
  • Phone: (704) 290-5218
Rick Kilian
Campus Safety Officer
  • Phone: (704) 718-0523
Kamisha Kirby
Faculty, Dept of Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Phone: (704) 290-5822
Julie Laytham
Professional Programs/HRD Instructor
  • Phone: (704) 290-5238
Mark Little
Dept Chair, Computer/Industrial Technologies
  • Phone: (704) 290-5245
Shawna Loftis
Student Activities Director
  • Phone: (704) 272-5375
Misty McMillan
Director of Marketing & Public Relations
  • Phone: (704) 290-5237
Todd Morris
Director, Corporate Training
  • Phone: (704) 290-5827
Tara Moss
Clinical Program Coordinator
  • Phone: (704) 290-5100
Maria Pharr
  • Phone: (704) 290-5251
Lauren Sellers
Associate VP of HR and Payroll
  • Phone: (704) 272-5335
Karla Shields
Dean, School of Applied Science & Technology
  • Phone: (704) 993-2437
Carole Lynn Simmons
Director of College Compliance
  • Phone: (704) 290-5258
Makena Stewart
Dean, Student Development
  • Phone: (704) 290-5100
Theresa Tribuzio
Recruitment Specialist